American Institute of Architects: Promoting Design

Robert Ivy is the Executive Vice President/Chief Executive Officer of the American Institute of Architects. The AIA is an organization that represents the architectural profession. Its members include licensed architects and their support staff, designers, and people in the construction industry. Robert Ivy earned this position February 1, 2011. As the chief executive officer, he manages the $56 million dollar budget and 206 staff members. The office is in Washington, DC.

One area the AIA works to help architects is in public outreach, where they try to educate and inform the public about the profession. The organization also offers continuing education, help with community redevelopment, and government advocacy. They also coordinate communication between the building industry, design, and construction.

The American Institute of Architects has over 90,000 members. There are five levels of membership available from the licensed architect level all the way to supporting staff. They also offer international membership to individuals who carry a similar license outside of the United States.

In 1992, the American Institute of Architects collaborated with Ivy on publishing his book called Fay Jones: Architect.

When not managing the AIA, Ivy is serving on several advisory boards. He serves on the Mississippi State University and Tulane University architectural boards. International, he is on the board at the Tongji University School of Architecture and Urban Planning in Shanghai, China.

Active in supporting his profession and colleagues, Ivy was a juror on the panel that choose Frank Gehry to design the National Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial, and he is a Senior Fellow of the Design Futures Council.

In his early years, Robert Ivy was principal at Dean & Ivy until 1996, where some of his duties included critiquing many national publications.

American Business Media bestowed Robert with the Crain Award. They recognized Ivy for his outstanding lifelong contributions to the media and the press. The Crain Award goes to people who contribute to editorial development in business.

Alpha Rho Chi, the national architecture fraternity, unanimously named Robert Ivy “Master Architect”. This fraternity looks to honor individuals that express the value of design. He is humbled to share this award with Dr. Nathan Clifford Ricker, who was the first graduate from the American School of Architecture. I. M. Pei, Richard Buckminster Fuller, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, John Wellborn Root, Eliel Saarinen, and Eliel Saarinen are also notables who have won the prestigious award.